Dwarf Driving

So… Being short, I’m often asked how I drive a car.  Several people have asked if I drive standing up.  Well, that’s not the way I’m supposed to go about it, but desperate times call for desperate measures.

Typically, I stick with pedal extensions.  Those are pretty much just longer pedals attached to the existing pedals.  All I have to do is set them to whatever size works best for me.  Back to the subject of ‘desperate measures.’  In some cases, the pedals become loose and fall off.  I can’t really pull the emergency brake and stop in the middle of the road, so when this happens I have to let the seat back, stand up and from there try to pull over to a safe spot.  There are also occasions where the extension pedals, while still attached to the regular pedals, get pushed down and won’t come back up.  In these instances, I can usually kick them back up to the proper position and all is well.

The next issue is the car’s hood.  If it’s a car with a hood that slopes down far enough, I can see without any problem.  If it doesn’t have the right hood, I can’t see.  In that scenario, I have to sit on a pillow.  Some people have told me that I should use a booster seat, but those are uncomfortable and my butt’s too big for one.

Another issue is the steering wheel.  If it’s not set low enough, I can’t see over it.  If it’s not high enough, my legs can’t move.

That’s really all there is to it.  All-in-all, it’s not too bad.  Uncomfortable, but not too bad.  The pedals can be absolutely terrifying, but as long as I check them regularly, it’s all good.

About imlittlekasey

Hi there! You can call me Kasey. I'm just a 20-something weirdo that finished up college and now I'm looking for something to do with my life. Some of my biggest passions are writing and photography. Hopefully you'll enjoy my work. http://imlittlekasey.deviantart.com/ https://twitter.com/ImLilKasey https://www.youtube.com/ImLittleKasey
This entry was posted in Diary of a Dwarf and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

